Why was sales tax applied to my Teachable purchase within the US?

U.S. laws around sales tax have been evolving rapidly over the last few years. Among other changes, these laws generally require central marketplaces like Teachable (rather than individual sellers using these marketplaces) to collect and remit sales tax to government authorities. These pieces of sales tax laws are known as “marketplace facilitator laws”.

These laws are complex and vary from state to state. Additionally, not every state has passed these laws. Fortunately, Teachable has worked hard to institute the required changes and to make sales tax as easy as possible for our creators.

As of October 7, 2021, the following list of states will apply sales tax to Teachable purchases. Please visit this Teachable page for updates.

States where we apply sales tax

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia (DC)
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington State
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us